Favorites ()
Photo of a female law student talking with a presenter in School of Law Atrium on Minneapolis campus.

Graduate Student Scholarship

Murphy Scholars

About Murphy Scholars

The Murphy Scholars fellowship program is built upon the pillars of scholarship, development, and community. Murphy Scholars contribute to the institute's programming and may participate in special projects according to their academic focus and scholarly interest. The program also offers exclusive events for personal, professional, and spiritual development throughout the year.

Additionally, Murphy Scholars have the unique opportunity to be part of a community of peers from both the School of Law and Catholic Studies graduate program.


The fellowship provides a $2,000 stipend ($1,000 per semester).


Students enrolled full-time in the JD, MA in Catholic Studies or JD/MA Joint Degree programs are eligible to apply. Students must also be in residence.

Application Process

The Murphy Scholar application is open each fall for admission to the current academic year's program.  Application materials and details will be made available here when applications are being accepted. 


Meet Our Murphy Scholars

Law student John Lucke headshot
Jack Golbranson heashot
Law student Michael Peterson headshot
Kayla Sayner headshot
Law student Tomy Vettakullel headshot
Law student Paul Befort headshot
Law student Caleb Callanan headshot
Law student Jack Palmer headshot
Isaac Rillo headshot
Gabrielle Temblay headshot
Jared Zimmerman headshot

Emeritus Murphy Scholars

Roque Albuja Ponce
Estudio Jurídico Juan F. Páez Terán
Joseph Cavello
Barnes & Thornburg, LLP
Rachana Chhin
Texas Conference of Catholic Bishops
Catherine Coyle
Christopher Damian
Target Corporation
Shannon Eckman
Morgan Fuller
Point B
Kathleen Goerke
MN Judicial Branch
Haley Jones
Target Corporation
Maura Kennedy
Dylan Knoll
Denechaud and Denechaud, L.L.C.
Leah Koch
Campbell Knutson, P.A.
Anna Marie Landis
Alexandria Liebl
Fourth Judicial Circuit
Kathryn Mollen
Joseph Nelson
Ryan Paukert
Fourth Judicial Circuit
Adam Pilon
Nicholas Rapisarda
Wendy Raymond
Andrew Rydlund
Jones Day
Sarah (Schaefer) Daly
Thomson Reuters
William Sipling
Peter Strickland
US Army JAG Corp
Heidi Van Der Berg
Gries Lenhardt Allen P.L.L.P
Thomas Wheeler
Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.
Richard Whitney